Outgoing D’Youville College President Named Honorary Oblate of Mary Immaculate

4 some

(L-R) Fr. William Antone, OMI, Sr. Denise Roche, GNSH, Sup. General Louis Lougen, OMI, Fr. Anthony Rigoli, OMI

December 13, 2015, Sr. Denise A. Roche, Grey Nun of the Sacred Heart, and President of D’Youville College (where the Pre-Novices study) was named an Honorary Oblate of Mary Immaculate by Fr. Louis Lougen, OMI, Superior General of the Oblates.

Oblates from around the country gathered along with Oblate pre-novices at Holy Angels Parish in Buffalo, NY for the investiure ceremony.


Fr. Lougen Blesses Sr. Denise after naming her an Honorary Oblate of Mary Immaculate


Sr. Denise (2nd from left) poses with Pre-novices: (L-R) Alexandro Alvarado, Jerry Gutierrez, Joseph Olicken, Jr. (top) and Jordan W, Morgan

A Buffalo native, Sister Denise A. Roche, GNSH, PhD entered the Grey Nuns of the Sacred Heart in 1961 and completed her undergraduate work in sociology and social work at D’Youville College. She received her master’s degree in sociology from Boston University and her doctorate from the University of Massachusetts. Prior to her appointment to the presidency, Sister Denise served on the D’Youville faculty, as well as chair of the sociology department and associate dean for continuing studies and academic services.

Sister Denise was instrumental in the development of several new academic programs at the baccalaureate and master’s level in occupational therapy, physical therapy, community health nursing, healthcare management, physician assistant, as well as doctoral studies in educational leadership, health policy and education, physical therapy, chiropractics, and most recently, pharmacy.

As chief executive officer, Sister Denise is responsible to a lay Board of Trustees for the administrative functions of the college. During the 32 years of her presidency, Sister Denise has guided D’Youville through changes and fluctuations in enrollment, fiscal demands, student demographics, faculty demands and campus expansion.


L-R Jordan W. Morgan, Joseph Olicken, Jr., Deacon Miguel Santos,  Fr. John Staak, OMI, Fr. Art Flores, OMI, Fr. Paul Nourie, OMI, Sr. Denise A. Roche, GNSH, Fr. William Antone, OMI, Superior General Louis Lougen, OMI, Fr. Tony Rigoli, OMI (rear) Fr. James Taggart, OMI, Fr. David Munoz, OMI , Fr. Alex Roque, OMI, Alejandro Alvarado (rear) Fr. Steve Vasek, OMI, Jerry Gutierrez